About Nei Gong 功

Nei Gong (Nei Kung) is a related term to Qi Gong, which can be translated as ‘internal’ (nei) ‘cultivation’ (gong). This is a more specific term than Qi Gong, and often refers to internal martial arts practices (also to more meditative practices associated with Daoism). A key feature in the Chinese internal martial arts is the cultivation of Neijing, or ‘internal power’, through Nei Gong practices.

‘Nei Gong’ often refers to more in depth postural, breathing and movement practices that enable students to learn and embody the subtler and deeper (internal) aspects of practice.

The term Nei Gong can also be related to the terms ‘Gong Fu’ (Kung Fu) which refers to skill acquired through learning or practice or effort – Gōng 功 means “work”, “achievement”, or “merit” – and the term ‘Jiben Gong’ – which refers to basic skills or foundation exercises. The term ‘Song Gong’ is also used to refer to exercises which develop the quality of relaxation and release (‘song’). These terms are referring to practice and qualities which develop over time.

_________________________________________________________

2024 Qigong / Nei Gong – Workshops

Qigong / Neigong workshops at Partickhill Bowling & Community Club

January

Saturday 6th Jan – 11:30am to 1pm – Free Taster Class – Tai Chi & Qigong Foundation Course Overview

Sunday 28th January – 11:30am to 3pm – Huang Sheng Shyan’s 5 Loosening Exercises + Bagua Basics

February

Saturday 17th February – 11:30am to 3pm – Liu Xiheng’s Tai Chi Exercises + Bagua Basics

March

Sunday 31st March – 11:30am to 3pm – Shibashi Tai Chi Qigong + Bagua Basics

April

Sat 13th April – 11:30am to 3pm – Tai Chi & Qigong Foundations

May

Saturday 4th May – 11:30am to 1pm – Free Taster Class – Tai Chi & Qigong Foundation Course Overview

Sunday 26th May – 11:30am to 3pm – Huang Sheng Shyan’s 5 Loosening Exercises + Bagua Basics

June

Sunday 23rd June – 11:30am to 3pm – Liu Xiheng’s Tai Chi Exercises + Bagua Basics

July

Sunday 28th July – 11:30am to 3pm – Shibashi Tai Chi Qigong + Bagua Basics

August

Saturday 10th Aug – 11:30am to 3pm – Tai Chi & Qigong Foundations

Saturday 31st Aug – 11:30am to 1pm – Free Taster Class – Tai Chi & Qigong Foundation Course Overview

September

Sunday 29th September – 11:30am to 3pm – Huang Sheng Shyan’s 5 Loosening Exercises + Bagua Basics

October

Sunday 28th October – 11:30am to 3pm – Liu Xiheng’s Tai Chi Exercises + Bagua Basics

November

Sunday 24th November – 11:30am to 3pm – Shibashi Tai Chi Qigong + Bagua Basics

December

Saturday 7th December – 11:30am to 3pm – Tai Chi & Qigong Foundations

________________________________________________________________

2024 Qigong / Nei Gong – Retreats

Qigong / Neigong retreat days at Trossachs Tryst in Callander

February

Saturday 24th February 2024 – 10am to 5pm

August

Sunday 18th August 2024 – 10am to 5pm

See also About Qigong section